Skip to content

Fleet of Fleetwings

October 5, 2011

I’ve done a lot of looking for Fleetwings on the interwebs since acquiring mine (now 2). There really is very little out there about these bikes. The ones I have might be a department store brand but all I really know about them is that they say made in Canada, and I like the way they ride.

I don’t remember if I mentioned it earlier in the summer, but the same week I got Flo, I was doing some reading and realized that one of the big right wing movements in Japan around the turn of the 20th century was called the Fleetwing movement. I found that a bit serendipitous.

Anyway, I finally, FINALLY, found out the years of production for the two Fleetwing bikes when I switched wheels out this weekend and realized the rims say 1982 for Florence and 1983 for the new bike.

But I have been surprised to spot THREE other Fleetwings on campus this week. One exactly the same as Flo but with some changes made, and then two similar to new red bike but one in black and one in a red mens frame.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

someone else’s version of Florence

 

 

 

 

I guess there are more of these around than I thought there would be. I may be biased, but I think mine are prettier… Here is mine in front of it’s dark twin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

