Skip to content

Upsizing: troubles in geometry

September 19, 2011

After riding Florence for the summer, I now know that lovely as she is, she is too small a frame for me.  A super long seat post has not fixed the problem and I still hang off the back of the seat.

This bike thing is a learning process. And I am making a lot of mistakes. On the up side, I can probably sell Florence for as much as she cost, so there is no net loss.

So this weekend, I thought I would try and upsize since I found a very similar frame in a larger size. This made sense to me, since I could then switch out parts pretty easily from the two and take the best of both worlds.

After a long drive out to the countryside to see the bike, this Fleetwing was a bit more dinged up, but overall a good frame. We even took a tape measure. I was disappointed to find that this bike was not that much bigger, maybe and inch or two, than Florence.

But, after some humming and ha-ing, we did buy her, thinking that any increase in size would at least be a benefit.

When we got home and compared them, there is only about an inch difference in the tube length. I’m a bit disappointed.

We will have to see if this makes much of a difference at all. You know, in an ideal world, I would go out, and buy the perfect bike in the perfect size, possibly new. But in the real world, second hand bike buying is an imperfect science, and new bikes get stolen every day. Two dear friends had their bikes stolen this week, and one from right where I park mine everyday.

I feel like I’m bumbling through this a bit. You live, you learn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

