Skip to content

Little additions

August 16, 2011

I’ve made a lot of changes. My commute is much longer, there are now five bicycles and I’m working on some bike parking solutions for the three that are here with me. There are other changes too, but let me start with this one.

This is one of two new stickers on my bike(s). This one makes me laugh a little. So the University here has a bait-bike program. You know, where they plant a bike, stake it out, and wait for thieves. I think this is a tremendously good use of University Police time, since most of my encounters have been with them being grouchy about me being in a building too late. University policing is a tricky thing, I know–they aren’t police but they are police… They have jurisdiction on certain things and the ability to let students off if they chose for behaviour that normal people would be held accountable for (such as drunken disorderly-ness). It’s good. It’s bad. But anyway.

It turns out that if you drop by the community police office on campus, they hand out these stickers for your bike. I don’t know how effective it will be, but the more ways to keep my bikes as my bikes, the better.

I don’t know though, I don’t think it really needs the gratuitous mountain bike image on it. Do you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

