Skip to content

And then there were five…

June 7, 2011

I’ve gone and done it again. I now own a fifth bike. I know, I know, it sounds absolutely ridiculous. But of course I can justify it:

Mabel is still taking it easy in Tokyo.

Maru is marooned in Vancouver waiting to find a way to get to Toronto. And even if she gets here, I think she may be far too beautiful  to safely park on campus which is quite likely the bike theft capital of the world.

Paris is not made for long commutes, but rather is defined by her ability to sneak into small spaces and go along on trips.

Grover is a great little work horse, but with no gears and coaster brakes, is also more of a shopping bike than a commuter bike. Grover is really my Toronto Mabel.

So now I have a Toronto Maru equivalent: Florence, the Fleetwing Mixte. (I would also like to point out I haven’t had a mixte up till now)

Florence came to me through a lot of slogging on Craigslist. Months of it actually. As I would hum and hah about making do with Grover or waiting for Maru to arrive. But ultimately I found something that suits my needs.

Her first run was lovely, down the Humber river with an evening breeze. Yet day two I woke up to find her with a flat back tire. It was in rough shape anyway, so off we went (poor and ever-lovely boy willing to help out despite his work load) in search of a new tire. Mondays is a crud day to go looking for an open bike shop.

For the first time in my life, I went to Canadian Tire specifically to buy a tire. And wouldn’t you know it, they didn’t have what I needed. At the third shop we found something appropriate and headed home.

I think the last time I helped change a tire, I was about 8. So it was high time I figure it out, and better in the comfort of the back yard with capable neighbours giving guidance than some evening in the rain on the road.

We also added a back rack for my panniers, a coffee cup holder for Sunday morning rides (ok, for everyday use) and a new bell.

I’m so excited to get back on the saddle.

I’m already pondering… black brooks saddle and handle bar tape, or chocolate brown?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

