Skip to content

lovely things — food

December 6, 2010

Well, to be honest, there is not much in the way of bike worthy happenings to report. Similar trips to similar places. Beautiful weather, sunny fall days even though December is here.

So I have decided to post a few of the lovely little things I find as treasures in Tokyo. And where better to start than food.

I recently purchased this while at the grocery store:

On the left we have “Sugar toast (with maple flavour) spread” which, as the label says, “just spread it on bread and toast.”

This of course required the purchase of the fluffiest white bread they had, so on the right we have, well, “Super Mellow” white bread with “a taste you just can’t get bored of.” It comes in a 3 slice pack–perfect for single living.

So, as the instructions say, spread sugar toast spread on bread.

I tried really hard to get it even for optimal crispy-ness. (unfortunately it’s so even you can barely see it in the picture)

2 minutes in the toaster oven and… ta da!

It’s maple-crispy-butter-super-mellow toast! Warm, and crispy and oh so perfect for a fall afternoon.

I have to say I have, with practice (oh the toil and trouble) learned a few tricks to making this even better. First of all, I now toast it longer so it gets a really goldeny toasty thing going on. I also strive to NOT make it even, as the varied texture and sugar coat improve the experience.

Now here’s what I’m thinking. Brown sugar, butter, creamed together would make a perfect, and likely even tastier, version for those of you who I know are just dying to try my Asian-trash diet. I also am trying to figure out a way to add ginger, because I think that would be sublime.

Why? why? why did no one think of toasting cinnamon toast AFTER putting the sugar and butter on when I was growing up? It’s pure genius.

Try it. I dare you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ridon permalink
    December 25, 2010 1:51 am

    hong kong toast uses the same bread, but instead spread butter and condensed milk and then toast. sweet and a little salty!

Leave a Reply

