Skip to content

A stranger in your own backyard

November 14, 2010
tags:

I took a little vacation this weekend.

I found a new meaning for unheimlich. I went to the town I once lived in. Walking around a town in which you know all the roads and crannies and yet which no one knows you anymore is both disconcerting, and wonderful. You can explore a place with complete ease, neither a tourist, nor part of the community. I suppose in someways Tokyo is often like that because of sheer numbers, but being in a small town was much more relaxing on these counts.

Tochigi has suffered a bit in the last few years. So many buildings were empty. Schools have closed, restaurants gone. Places I used to go stand empty. The game center, the mos burger, the mom and pop store in front of the station.

I definitely saw many things with fresh eyes that obnoxious youth, and living there obscured from me. So many amazing buildings. And the people were so kind. No offense Tokyo, but personality wise, you have nothing on the sticks.

 

I went for the festival, but more on that later.

 

sequined “rice”

I love that this car is both for a driver over 65  (as evidenced by the yellow and orange sticker) and also a community watch vehicle. Vigilantly nosey old folks in vintage cars.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 3:54 pm

    Such cool pictures!

Leave a Reply

