Skip to content

Drier than toast and disastrous nostalgia

October 5, 2010

The deadline still looms. The work drags on.

But at least today MUG was open so I could go settle in there for a few hours of cozy work. And still keep Maru in view too. It wasn’t really far enough to warrant taking Maru off the veranda, but I wanted to stretch my legs a bit after days on the couch working.

I’m not really sure when “rusks” became popular here. They seem to be everywhere now. I think of rusks as something babies teethe on. Apparently they are also a chic way to dress up stale toast with some sugar and call it a brand new treat. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the sweet little nibblies that these rusks are to go with my after lunch americano.

Unfortunately it’s not a non-smoking environment. But on the plus side, it does have internet.

And lots of good 50s gee-goss. And a real espresso machine.

And, oddly, an Air-India fridge. Who knew. Now, personally, I have trouble reconciling Air-India with 50s nostalgia, but I am a little overwhelmed with Air-India disaster connections in my brain. Maybe it’s a Vancouver thing, but nothing says “horrific” quite like Air-India to me. (ok, fine, not nothing. lots of things say horrific. don’t even get me started)

On the way home (and by “way-home” I mean ridiculously long scenic ride home–which involved going to Blue Lug bike store to browse at bike candy–to stretch my legs and avoid said workload) I passed this bakery. Ok, I passed and went back. If Eli has taught me nothing else, it’s a new appreciation off all things wheat.

The chocolate croissant was entirely acceptable. Possibly would make it in to the Tokyo top ten croissant list if we were to do a 2010 version.

The Onion-cheese bread however was less pleasant, partly because it had ham hidden it. Now all you meat eater types, that’s fine. I get it. And I get that Japan feels like it cheats you if your savoury product hasn’t been laced with some kind of animal protein. But if the ham stains your bread pink, doesn’t that worry you? The cheese and onion bun didn’t need meat. And clearly it wasn’t up to snuff if it was pigmented processed pig product.

Still, Boulangerie T Lebois, I will visit you again. But you can keep those cheese buns for someone else.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 10:26 am

    wow! mugs looks great! I just arrived in Tokyo last month and visited Blue Lug for the first time today. Where is mugs? I’d love to drop by there as well!

    • October 9, 2010 3:43 pm

      Nice to meet you.
      Mugs is near Nakano station on the JR and Tozai subway lines. If you click on the link on my side bar, there should be a map. It’s out the south exit and then carry on south but a little hard to spot the first time.

  2. October 9, 2010 4:01 pm

    thanks! I will certainly try and find it next time I’m through that way.

Leave a Reply

