Skip to content

Maru

September 20, 2010
tags: , ,

I would like to formally introduce you to Maru.

Isn’t she gorgeous? I feel ludicrously self indulgent. I brought her home from FIG yesterday. A lot of angst and worrying went into bringing her home–should I buy a brand new bike? Do I deserve her? How will I get her home when I leave Japan? etc etc.

But really, why not? I’ve been a poor graduate student for half a decade now, and riding old, broken bikes is neither good for me, nor that fun. I love Mabel and she will be great for years to come for shopping and library going etc. She’s a lovely ride, and she has encouraged me to go further and further, until her own weight became a problem for my knees and my desire to get on sometimes. She has not fallen out of favour, don’t worry, she’s just going to have a bit more of a relaxing life–no more dragging her across the city when she isn’t really into it.

Anyway, all my worries (or most of them, I still feel lingering guilt) washed away when I got on Maru and rode her home. I felt 7 years old. I went fast, soooo fast, that I half-ed my average commute time even though I was playing it pretty conservative for the first ride. Roads that had been hills before became flat, I couldn’t hear anything but the wind whistling by my ears.

Today, much I think to the chagrin of the very serious bike shop I bought her from (on sale, deep discount) I bought a pretty pannier for Maru. Although they discouraged me from putting a rack on her, I explained that I can’t really go anywhere without being able to accommodate my laptop, and my back just isn’t good with weight.

I looked around for a good bag quite a bit, but there wasn’t too much choice here–most people don’t really go for panniers, they go for baskets. This one seemed tolerable, if over priced, for throwing my mac and my taiko sticks in for the long ride days. If I have to carry more than that (groceries for instance), I always have Mabel.

There are things I think I will change about Maru over time–her white seat and handle grips will probably go eventually–but I think she is a great investment for years to come. I think I will need new handle bars fairly soon as these are a bit hard on my wrists, but I want to get used to her first. And now I have a new challenge everyday: to find not the most direct route across town, but the one with the fewest cars and pedestrians, so I can really work her to her potential.

Two day mileage count: 6.3 + 7.5 + 7.5 = 21.3km

Train fare saved: 160 + 210 + 210= 580

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    September 20, 2010 6:03 pm

    She’s lovely! And I really like that bag.

  2. RHG permalink
    September 26, 2010 12:38 am

    Maru! Love her!

Trackbacks

  1. Meet Riley « Tokyo Beaute Toronto

Leave a Reply

