Skip to content

Around the (new) neighbourhood

August 15, 2010

This weekend I finally walked around my new hood. I sat and had a quiet lunch at Freshness Burger and this was my view. The sign in the front says, bilingually, no bike parking on the streets of Nakano. Note the bikes parked behind it.

It was my first time to walk around Nakano Broadway. Well, I passed through once several years ago. I won’t be short of socks here.

and they aren’t kidding. They really DO have all kinds.

In the evening we fit in a little Karaoke. I haven’t been in ages, and I forgot how absolutely fun Keita and Akiko are to sing with.

But in a decade or more, my song selection hasn’t changed much. Ten points if you can name the song…

In surprisingly good spirits this morning considering the late night out, I rode to Shimokitazawa to meet Yuki. This picture does nothing to covey to you how hot and sweaty and humid it was out. It was actually pretty gross. But Mabel held up well, even if I looked a mess by the time we arrived.

Yuki had picked a wonderful cafe. Its name is uninspiring, Deli & Baking, Co. But the menu was fabulous and I had a rather hard time picking.

But settled on this deli combo. I kind of think I really wanted the fruit pancakes but this seemed healthier.

Yum!

And the we shopped the store of Shimokita and I found several (eek!) dresses that fit me and came home with me. It’s so hard to find anything that fits here, so it’s hard to turn down a good find. And plus, I need some cool summer things for the beach next week on Sadogashima!!! SO SO EXCITED!!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    August 27, 2010 2:31 am

    I like Mabel. I also like Japanese socks. Wish I was there to sing karaoke! I’ve never done it!

  2. Shaun permalink
    August 30, 2010 2:53 pm

    10 POINTS FOR ME!

    The song is Puffy’s “kore ga watashi no ikirumichi”

Leave a Reply

