Skip to content

help me name the beaute?

July 17, 2010

I’ve decided the Beaute needs a name, so I am asking for help. Calling her Beaute makes me feel (and sound) like I think I’m in a disney movie which just doesn’t sit well.

Momo and the RHG and I talked briefly about it the other day, and decided that it couldn’t have a Japanese name because it would be terribly orientalising for me to be riding my ass around on a figurative embodiment. It would also be a bit cliche.

I briefly flipped through a book of names (hey, it was right here next to me on my brother’s shelf) and I like Blythe because it means happy and carefree, but the Blythe dolls are way to popular here, so it feels old and tired.

I like older names, like Eleanor, Bernice and Mavis  but they are already taken. I considered Winnie or Doris but again, as my grandmother’s names it would be weird to ride.

Anyway, I’m asking for help and suggestions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jtau permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:28 am

    I think you should name her Isadora and nickname her Izzy. Loving your blog

  2. ridon permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:36 am

    dolores? audrey? eunice?

    my bike is a ross, so its name is just ross, sometimes rossie. it doesn’t look very masculine, but i’m one of those people who would name their cat cat.

Leave a Reply

