Skip to content

Rainy Shibuya Sundays

July 11, 2010

I am watching the slowest, least eventful tv show ever. It’s about an izakaya (pub) in Iwate, and it’s on the channel that showcases local communities. “Why?” you may ask. Well, because every other channel is showing the election and I can’t bear to see the LDP win. Maybe they won’t–it’s neck and neck right now. This show is really a man with a handy cam ordering a succession of average foods at a fairly average bar.

The rain has kicked in again full tilt, which unfortunately Nozomi and I got caught in as we walked from Shibuya back to the hood. I was walking Beaute, and for a short while, Nozomi rode on the back, side saddle style, which I WISH I had a picture of. It’s illegal here, so she was hesitant to do it for too long. We rode past Yoyogi park and stopped to photograph the 50’s rocksters. I’m sure there is a real name for them, but I don’t know it off the top of my head. (and last year these guys were in Ueno, so I’m not sure what has brought them back this side of the city where they were in the 80s and 90s.)

While the street wasn’t shut down like it used to be on Sundays, the same assortment of food stalls still surround the entrance. The area around the park was packed with everyone heading to the olympic dome so something must be on there tonight

Nozomi and I took the long way around Harajuku to avoid Takeshita Dori on the weekend which would have been mayhem, especially pushing a bike and in the rain with all theumbrellas. Outside the station there was a man on a trike selling umbrellas for 600 yen. I tried to snap a photo but it’s not a great shot of his pedal power umbrella store.

We took a lovely little shortcut (on our long way around) through here.

Nozomi has let me have her old cell phone, so I have GLEEFULLY joined the ranks of those who can watch TV on their phones and check train times etc. I’m totally psyched. I was amazed that you can take a picture of a business card and it can scan for all the contact details and add them to your phone book. How crazy is that? Or am I just lamely behind the times?

Another grad student is arriving and staying with me tonight and I have been too lazy with this being sick thing to do much other than put clean sheets on the bed for her. I’m a little embarrassed that there is no food in the fridge and the place is a bit cluttered. I did pick up milk and eggs though so she won’t starve completely.

I would go watch tv on my phone now, just for the sake of it, only the only thing on is the election and this guy who is now watching and waiting as his oysters very slowly cook on the table hitachi. Occasionally he sprinkles in an observation about them. This would be great for anyone with insomnia….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

